music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Chris Larner's AN INSTINCT FOR KINDNESS - Southbank dates and national tour

AN INSTINCT FOR KINDNESS

Written and Performed by Chris Larner
Directed by Hannah Eidinow

Last year, Chris Larner accompanied his chronically ill ex‐wife to Switzerland’s Dignitas clinic. He came home with an empty wheelchair and a story to tell.

This moving, bittersweet show reflects on the circumstances, morality and humanity surrounding the journey. Through a candid, poignant and sometimes comic performance, Chris explores both the profound personal implications and the wider ethical issues that surround the contentious topic.

Chris Larner is a writer, actor and director. His stage work includes Alice in Wonderland (RSC); Wind In The Willows (National Theatre); and on TV, Clingfilm in London’s Burning. He has written extensively for comedy legends The Right Size and many others. With David Gilbert he wrote The Laxian Key for BBC Radio. His Edinburgh shows include acclaimed musicals The Translucent Frogs of Quuup (Guardian Best Musical Award 2004) and On The Island of Aars (nominated for five MTM Awards, 2008).

Hannah Eidinow has directed five Fringe First Award winning plays – four of them documentary theatre pieces: An Instinct For Kindness (Edinburgh 2011), Lockerbie: Unfinished Business (Edinburgh 2010, 2011 & UK tour), What I Heard About Iraq (Edinburgh 2006, UK Tour & West End 2007), and Gone (Edinburgh & West End 2004). Hannah is Creative Development and Associate Director for Pleasance and an Associate Director of The Miniaturists, a writer‐led group dedicated to producing short plays. Recent directing credits include Mood Swing (Edinburgh and New York 2010); Memory Cells (Edinburgh 2010); The Lady From The Sea (Arcola); and A British Subject (Edinburgh, Broadway, and Arts Theatre, West End).

An Instinct For Kindness won critical acclaim and a Fringe First Award at its Edinburgh Fringe premiere in 2011. In Spring 2012, it tours the UK for the first time.

Tour Dates:

Thursday 26 January: Arena Theatre, Wolverhampton – www.arenatheatre.info
Friday 27 – Sunday 29 January: Southbank Centre, London – www.southbankcentre.co.uk
Friday 3 – Saturday 4 February: Hull Truck Theatre, Hull – www.hulltruck.co.uk
Thursday 9 February: Swindon Arts Centre, Swindon – www.wegottickets.com/swindonartscentre
Friday 10 February: Forest Arts, New Milton – www.forest‐arts.co.uk
Saturday 11 February: Hazlitt Arts Centre, Maidstone – www.hazlittartscentre.co.uk
Thursday 16 February: The Cornerstone, Didcot – www.cornerstone‐arts.org
Saturday 18 February: Underground Theatre, Eastbourne – www.undergroundtheatre.org.uk/
Thursday 23 February: The Lowry, Salford Quays – www.thelowry.com
Saturday 25 February: Haverhill Arts Centre, Haverhill – www.haverhillartscentre.co.uk/
Friday 2 March: Square Chapel Arts Centre, Halifax – www.squarechapel.co.uk
Friday 3 March: Selby Town Hall, Selby – www.selbytownhall.co.uk
Friday 9 March: The Old Town Hall, Hemel Hempstead – www.oldtownhall.co.uk
Friday 16 March: Island Arts Centre, Lisburn – www.islandartscentre.com
Saturday 17 March: Royal and Derngate, Northampton – www.royalandderngate.co.uk
Wednesday 21 March: Wales Millenium Centre, Cardiff – www.wmc.org.uk/
Thursday 22 – Friday 23 March: Curve Theatre, Leicester – www.curveonline.co.uk
Thursday 29 March: Arlington Arts Centre, Newbury – www.arlingtonarts.co.uk

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]