music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Theatre Review: Sister Act The Musical (UK Tour) - New Wimbledon Theatre ✭✭✭✭

Sister Act The Musical
New Wimbledon Theatre

Wednesday 6th June: Sister Act The Musical is currently on a UK tour, and last night it hit New Wimbledon Theatre with a resounding Hallelujah!

After seeing this a few times in the West End at the London Palladium, with various Van Cartier's and Mother Superior's, it's a refreshing change to see the touring version adapt so well for the smaller stages.
Gone is a lot of the automation, instead we now have flown pieces, and it works wonderfully.

Cynthia Erivo is Deloris Van Cartier, with all the sass and charm to go with the part, an incredible vocal range and delightful to watch. Julie Atherton was in splendid form as Sister Mary Robert, again, vocals were fantastic, The Life I Never Led sounding absolutely superb.

The rest of the cast combine to complete a powerful and exuberant ensemble, with songs such as Raise Your Voice and Take Me To Heaven raising the theatre's roof.

The men are simply brilliant in this show - When I Find My Baby with it's soul grooves and falsetto backing vocals, and Jackson Five style dancing to boot, what's not to like? Tyrone Huntley as TJ shines out.

Edward Baruwa is 'Sweaty Eddie', the police officer in charge, has a show stealing moment in I Could Be That Guy, with very slick costume changes and is a joy to watch.

One thing that would make this show the best out there is if they cranked the volume up a bit on the sound system! It's a great score, and it would be nice to hear it at times.

A fantastic evening had by all, this show is Fabulous, Baby!


✭✭✭✭


Tour Dates
Thu 7th Jun - Sat 16th Jun: New Wimbledon Theatre - London
Tue 19th Jun - Sat 30th Jun: Milton Keynes Theatre - Milton Keynes
Tue 3rd Jul - Sat 14th Jul: Theatre Royal - Plymouth
Tue 24th Jul - Sat 4th Aug: Wales Millennium Centre - Cardiff
Tue 14th Aug - Sat 25th Aug: Theatre Royal - Newcastle upon Tyne
Tue 28th Aug - Sat 8th Sep: New Victoria Theatre - Woking
Tue 11th Sep - Sat 22nd Sep: Kings Theatre - Glasgow
Tue 25th Sep - Sat 6th Oct: Opera House - Manchester
Tue 9th Oct - Sat 20th Oct: Birmingham Hippodrome - Birmingham

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]