music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Frantic Assembly and National Theatre of Scotland announce cast for UK tour of BEAUTIFUL BURNOUT

Beautiful Burnout

Theatre company Frantic Assembly, led by artistic directors Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett, have announced the cast for the revival of their hit boxing play Beautiful Burnout, which premiered at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe in 2010, in a co-production with the National Theatre of Scotland.

Taqi Nazeer will reprise his role as the young boxer Ajay, joined by Theatre Delicatessen regular Margaret Ann Bain, Black Watch stars Ali Craig and Keith Fleming, newcomer Stuart Ryan, Welsh actor and writer Matthew Trevannion and Julie Wilson Nimmo, star of Chewin’ the Fat and children’s television programme Balamory

Written by Bryony Lavery, Beautiful Burnout is a thrilling piece of highly physical theatre that immerses the audience in the explosive world of boxing.

Beautiful Burnout’s UK tour will begin at the Theatre Royal, Plymouth on 3 October 2012, and continue to Warwick, London, Cardiff, Dundee, Leeds, Newcastle, Southampton and Hull.

This award-winning collaboration between Frantic Assembly and National Theatre of Scotland challenges preconceptions about the most controversial sport of our time.

Written by acclaimed playwright Bryony Lavery, Beautiful Burnout premiered at the Pleasance Theatre, Edinburgh, in August 2010, to huge public and critical acclaim. It also toured to America, Australia and New Zealand. This is the first UK revival.

The return of Beautiful Burnout with the National Theatre of Scotland will cap a unique hat-trick for Frantic Assembly’s artistic directors Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett, who will have worked with all three of the UK’s national theatres in one calendar year. Little Dogs, a co-production with National Theatre Wales, opened in Swansea in May 2012, while The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time will open at the National Theatre in London in Summer 2012. Scott and Steven also recently collaborated with Damon Albarn, Rufus Norris, Manchester International Festival, London 2012 Festival and the ENO on Doctor Dee.

Beautiful Burnout features the music of Underworld.

TOUR LISTINGS INFORMATION:

Theatre Royal, Plymouth
Wed 03 – Sat 06 Oct 2012, 7.30pm
Matinee: Thur 04 Oct, 2.30pm
Post Show Discussion: Thur 04 (evening only)
www.theatreroyal.com
01752 267222
On sale now

Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry
Tue 9 – Sat 13 Oct 2012, 7.30pm
Matinees: Thur 11 Oct, 1.30pm & Sat 13, 2.30pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 10 Oct
www.warwickartscentre.co.uk
024 7652 4524
On sale now

Artsdepot, Barnet
Tue 16 – Fri 19 Oct 2012, 7.30pm
Matinees: Wed 17 & Fri 19 Oct, 2pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 17 (eve only)
www.artsdepot.co.uk
0208 369 5454
On sale now

Sherman Cymru, Cardiff
Tue 23 – Sat 27 Oct 2012, 7.30pm
Matinee: Thur 25 Oct, 2.30pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 24
www.shermancymru.co.uk
029 2064 6900
On sale now

Dundee Rep Theatre, Dundee
Wed 31 Oct – Sat 03 Nov 2012, 7.30pm
Matinee: Thu 01 Nov & Sat 03 Nov, 2.30pm
Post Show Discussion: Thur 01 Nov (eve)
www.dundeerep.co.uk
01382 223 530
On sale now

West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds
Tue 06 – Sat 10 Nov 2012, 7.30pm
Matinees: Thur 08 Nov, 1.30pm & Sat 10 Nov, 2pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 07 Nov
www.wyp.org.uk
0113 213 7700
On sale now

Northern Stage, Newcastle
Tue 13 – Sat 17 Nov 2012, 7.30pm
Matinee: Sat 17 Nov, 2pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 13 Nov
www.northernstage.co.uk
0191 230 5151
On sale now

Nuffield Theatre, Southampton
Tue 20 – Sat 24 Nov 2012, 7.30pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 21 Nov
www.nuffieldtheatre.co.uk
023 8067 1771
On sale now

Hull Truck Theatre, Hull
Tue 27 Nov - Sat 01 Dec 2012, 7.45pm
Matinees: Wed 28 & Fri 30, 2pm
Post Show Discussion: Wed 28 Nov (eve)
www.hulltruck.co.uk
01482 323638
On sale now

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]