music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Sam & Mark to host TOP OF THE POPS LIVE!


Sam & Mark to host 
Top of the Pops LIVE!
Television and radio presenters Sam & Mark are announced today as the hosts of Top of the Pops LIVE, a unique live theatre production that will capture the spirit of the iconic TV show, Top of the Pops. 

Top of the Pops LIVE will open at Birmingham’s Alexandra Theatre on Tuesday 30 October and then tour to theatres across the UK. It promises a cast of sensational singers, dancers, fantastic music and a live on stage band, together with some memorable material from the BBC’s Top of the Pops TV vaults.

Sam Nixon said: “Top of the Pops LIVE is a celebration of the most iconic music TV show ever and we are so excited to be part of this special live event. Top of the Pops LIVE is going to be the ultimate feelgood night out, where the audience get to sing along with the cast to some of the greatest ever hits.”

Whilst Mark Rhodes added: “We started our presenting career on a show called Top Of The Pops Saturday so to be taking Top Of The Pops on the road is very exciting! Everyone has their own TOTP memories and we look forward to joining in the fun each night as we recreate key musical landmarks from three key decades.”

Sam Nixon and Mark Rhodes
Top of the Pops LIVE is a nostalgic concert celebrating the greatest hits by the biggest stars in the world of pop from the 70s, 80s and 90s – from TRex and David Bowie, to Blondie and Adam & The Ants, Duran Duran, Madonna and many more. Paying homage to the DJs who introduced the TV show and to the resident dance troupes, Top of the Pops LIVE will offer a fabulous feast of musical nostalgia. A truly interactive performance where the show can be different each night as our hosts countdown the audiences’ top five – from a list of classic hits – and the live singers, dancers and band play the number 1 based on the audience vote.

Sam Nixon & Mark Rhodes, known collectively as Sam & Mark first met when they competed on the second series of Pop Idol in 2003, where they finished third and second, respectively. Since then, they have had a successful career as TV presenters, hosting shows such as TMi, Top of the Pops Reloaded and family favourite Copycats. They also present Sam & Mark's Big Friday Wind Up. Earlier this year they competed against each other on ITV1’s Dancing On Ice. They present a weekly Sunday radio show on Orion Media’s Free Radio stations between 11.00am and 1.00pm. 

Top of the Pops burst onto BBC television screens on New Year's Day 1964 and continued to entertain millions for over four decades, becoming one of the greatest pop shows in history. Decades before video, MTV, the internet and mobile phones, this BBC television programme was an unmissable weekly TV date for generations of teenagers. 

BBC FOUR currently screens episodes from 1977 on a weekly basis.
BBC TWO schedule TOTP2.
Top of the Pops returns to BBC ONE every Christmas Day.

Top of the Pops LIVE is produced by Derek Nicol and Paul Walden for Flying Entertainment in association with BBC Worldwide.

Tour Dates

Tuesday October 30  - Saturday November 3
Birmingham Alexandra Theatre

Monday November 5 - Saturday November 10 
Manchester Opera House

Monday November 12 - Saturday November 17 
Bradford Alhambra Theatre

Monday November 19 - Saturday November 24 
Woking New Victoria Theatre

Monday November 26 - Saturday December 1
Dartford Orchard Theatre

Monday January 21 - Saturday January 26 
Liverpool Empire

Monday January 28 - Saturday 2 February 
York Grand Opera House

Monday February 11 - Saturday February 16 
Stoke on Trent Regent Theatre

Monday February 18 - Saturday February 23 
Southampton Mayflower Theatre

Monday February 25 - Saturday March 2
Brighton Theatre Royal

Monday March 4 - Saturday March 9 
Wolverhampton Wolverhampton Grand

Monday March 11 - Saturday March 16
Bristol Hippodrome

Monday April 1 - Saturday April 6 
Oxford New Theatre

Monday April 8 - Saturday April 13 
Bromley Churchill Theatre

Monday April 15 - Saturday April 20 
Glasgow Kings Theatre

Monday April 22 - Saturday April 27 
Edinburgh Playhouse

Monday April 29 - Saturday May 4
Aberdeen His Majesty’s Theatre

More dates to be added

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]