music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Theatre Review: Gotta Sing Gotta Dance - Richmond Theatre (UK Tour) ✭✭✭✭

Gotta Sing Gotta Dance
Photo by Robert Workman
Richmond Theatre (until 7 sept then UK Tour)

I'm always sceptical about going to see 'Musical Revue' shows, its not that I don't like them, it's just I see a lot them, and they are usually the same old drab affair of a performer stood there singing a song that everybody sings from the Musicals, a bit like being at a showcase or on a cruise ship.

Gotta Sing Gotta Dance is different from these kind of shows though, with a four piece band on stage led by MD Chris Whitehead, they are sounding good, especially the drummer Ollie Boorman who does some good fills here and there in songs like Defying Gravity and You Can't Stop the Beat. The sound overall is of good quality, but at times there is too much reverb on some on the vocals, especially in Song That Goes Like This from Spamalot, it should be crisp and clear so we hear each word concisely, instead of being in a vacuous concert hall straining to hear the dialect.

Performance wise, here you have seven incredibly talented people on stage. It's hard to pick out a stand alone star of the show, as they all do incredibly well. Vocals are spot on from all, the choreography from Nick Winston is dealt out in style, especially the tap dancing numbers. And they all have a boundless amount of energy to go amongst the numerous costume changes, the sparring of Broadway v British Musicals, and a three minute revue of all the musicals currently in the West End!

There were some old and new songs in the set list, from the golden age of musicals and hollywood films, to the latest up to date Broadway and West End shows, so there is a huge variety in store for all musical lovers. A surprise and lovely insertion is Taylor the Latte Boy - not from a musical, but originally by Kristin Chenoweth - this adds yet more humour and class to the production.

So what you get is 60 songs, 50 dances, 105 costumes, 26 tap shoes, 4 explosions, 3 miners helmets, 2 dustbin lids, a washboard and a watermelon!

Gotta Sing Gotta Dance - Gotta see the show!

4 stars ✭✭✭✭

GOTTA SING GOTTA DANCE 2013 TOUR DATES 

EASTBOURNE
Devonshire Park Theatre
Thursday 1 August - Saturday 24 August 


WESTON SUPER MARE
Playhouse Theatre
Friday 30 August & Saturday 31 August 


RICHMOND
Richmond Theatre
Thursday 5 September - Saturday 7 September 
 

SOUTHEND
Cliff’s Pavilion 

Sunday 8 September 

BLACKPOOL
Grand Theatre
Tuesday 10 September - Saturday 14 September 


DARTFORD
The Orchard Theatre
Monday 16 September - Wednesday 18 September 


HIGH WYCOMBE
Wycombe Swan
Friday 20 September & Saturday 21 September 


BRISTOL 
Hippodrome
Sunday 22 September 


NEWCASTLE
Mill Volvo Tyne Theatre 

Tuesday 24 September 

DUNFERMLINE
Alhambra Theatre 

Wednesday 25 September 

GRIMSBY 
Auditorium
Friday 27 September 


STOKE ON TRENT 
Regent Theatre 
Saturday 28 September 

BIRMINGHAM 
Alexandra Theatre 
Sunday 29 September 

BUXTON
Opera House 

Tuesday 1 October 

KINGS LYNN,
Corn Exchange 

Thursday 3 October 

LOWESTOFT
Marina Theatre
Friday 4 & Saturday 5 October 


OXFORD 
New Theatre 
Sunday 6 Oct 

SOUTHAMPTON 
Mayflower Theatre 
Tuesday 8 October 

CROYDON
Fairfield Hall 

Wednesday 9 October 

BASINGSTOKE
The Anvil
Thursday 10 October 


WOKING
New Victoria Theatre
Friday 11 & Saturday 12 October 


WATFORD
The Colloseum 

Sunday 13 October 

STEVENAGE
Gordon Craig Theatre
Monday 14 & Tuesday 15 October


YORK
Grand Opera House 
Sunday 20 October 

LIVERPOOL 
Philharmonic Hall
 Monday 21 October 

BRADFORD
St George’s Hall 

Tuesday 22 October 

DUNDEE 
CAIRD HALL 
23 Oct 

GLASGOW
King’s Theatre 

Thursday 24 October 

SHEFFIELD
City Hall
Friday 25 October 


Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]