music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

DEACON BLUE to release new album in September and announce Summer forest and festivals tour

DEACON BLUE
A NEW HOUSE 
* New album out in September *
* Summer forests and festivals tour *
Deacon Blue return with the much anticipated follow up to Top-20 album The Hipsters with their 7th studio album A New House released on 8th September through Rhino Records.

Formed in Glasgow in 1985, Deacon Blue went on to become one of the city’s most famous and successful bands. From debut album Raintown and follow-up, the chart-topping When The World Knows Your Name, through to 2012’s The Hipsters, Deacon Blue are consistently one of the most respected and critically received bands of their generation.

Alongside over six million album sales, twelve UK Top 40 singles and tow UK Number One albums, Deacon Blue are also one of the most passionate live bands around. They will be taking to the road this summer for some beautifully set forest and festival gigs and then will head out on a national tour at the end of the year, playing tracks from A New House. The tour will take in homecoming shows in Scotland, the celebrated Hop Farm Festival and a date at London’s Festival Hall.

A New House has been produced by Paul Savage (Franz Ferdinand, Teenage Fanclub, King Cresote) and the band and sees them sign to a new label, Warner Artist Services. President of the label Dan Chalmers says: “We are so happy to welcome Deacon Blue to the Rhino Records family. It’s an honour to get the chance to work with such eloquent songwriters and artists of this calibre and we look forward to an ongoing relationship with the band.”

Ricky Ross says: I'm more excited about this new album than any record we've made up ‘til now. It's going to be great performing it live. As well as that we have a huge catalogue of songs from our other records we'll want to play. Don't expect to go home too early!”
Singer Lorraine McIntosh agrees: “We have been enjoying every minute of making this beautiful record. We are looking forward to getting out there and playing it live around the country – we think you're going to like it! ”

Deacon Blue are: Ricky Ross, Lorraine McIntosh, James Prime, Dougie Vipond.

Tickets for the UK Nationwide tour are on sale at 9am on Friday 11th April. Forestry Commission and Hop Farm gigs are on sale now. More information at www.deaconblue.com

Forests and Festival dates:

28 Jun Sat     Dalby Forest
13 Jul Sun     Thetford Forest
19 Jul Sat      Westonbirt Arbitorium
6 Jul Sun       Hop Farm Festival

Tour:

29 Nov Sat    Kilmarnock -  Music Hall
30 Nov Sun   Aberdeen - Music Hall
1 Dec Mon    Glasgow - Clyde Auditorium
4 Dec Thurs  Dundee - Caird Hall
5 Dec Fri       Inverness - Hall
7 Dec Sun     Newcastle - City Hall
8 Dec Mon    Sheffield - City Hall
9 Dec Tues   Cardiff - St David’s Hall
12 Dec Fri     Harrogate – International Centre
13 Dec Sat    Nottingham – Royal Concert Hall
15 Dec Mon  London – Royal Festival Hall
16 Dec Tues Birmingham – Symphony Hall
17 Dec Wed  Manchester – Apollo
20 Dec Sat    Edinburgh – Usher Hall

21 Dec Sun   Liverpool – Echo Arena

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]