music

[Music][threecolumns]

theatre

[Theatre][bleft]

Theatre Review: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang - West Yorkshire Playhouse ✭✭✭✭✭

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Jon Robyns, Lucy Sherman, Harry Grasby and Amy Griffiths
Credit - Alastair Muir
West Yorkshire Playhouse 
Review by Sara Burns

Thursday 10th December 2015: West Yorkshire Playhouse's Artistic Director James Brining explains that, 'the act of telling the story is as powerful as the story itself' – and this retelling does just that.
The Ian Fleming fairytale fantasy of a flying car; an unconventional family and a world of eccentric characters lives up to expectations.

The attention to detail and utter magic of the production mirrors in genius the inventions of Caractacus Potts, immersing the audience into a world that turns the cogs of the imagination.

Jon Robyns takes the lead role as inventor and storyteller Potts, whose talent is apparent in not only his versatility and voice, but in his natural interaction and sensitivity as a performer as dedicated father to Jeremy and Jemima, played by young actors Henry Kent and Caitlin Surtees.

Amy Griffiths, Stephen Matthews and Ewen Cummins
Credit - Alastair Muir
Joined by the delightful Amy Griffiths as a forward thinking Truly Scrumptious with a flair for mechanics, this production takes us back to a time where childhood dreams, fears and imaginings touch both adults and innocents alike.

With scenic and lighting design from Simon Higlett and Tim Mitchell, the creative aspects of this show are not to be underestimated. The outstanding production values only go to further enhance this magical machine - enhancing the already a super slick ensemble of dancers and hugely talented character actors.

In the words of the catchy song that bookends the show 'Team Work' can most certainly make a 'Dream work.'

Five stars ✭✭✭✭✭

LISTINGS INFO

CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG plays at the West Yorkshire Playhouse until 30 January 2016, www.wyp.org.uk 

For more information, visit www.chittythemusical.co.uk

Facebook: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang The Musical

Twitter: @ChittyMusical / #chittymusical

For cast details, please see each individual theatre website for more info.


2016 Tour Dates
10–21 February: Mayflower Theatre, Southampton www.mayflower.org.uk
24 February – 13 March: Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin www.bordgaisenergytheatre.ie
16 – 27:  March Grand Opera House, Belfast www.goh.co.uk
30 March – 9 April: Regent Theatre, Stoke www.atgtickets.com/venues/regent-theatre           
13 – 24 April: Cliffs Pavilion, Southend www.thecliffspavilion.co.uk
4 – 14 May: Milton Keynes Theatre www.atgtickets.com/venues/milton-keynes-theatre/
18 – 29 May: Nottingham Theatre Royal www.trch.co.uk
1 – 12 June: Theatre Royal, Newcastle www.theatreroyal.co.uk
29 June – 17 July: Sheffield Lyceum www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk
20 – 30 July: New Wimbledon Theatre www.atgtickets.com/venues/new-wimbledon-theatre
3 – 21 August: Wales Millennium Centre www.wmc.org.uk
24 August – 3 September: Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury www.marlowetheatre.com
7 – 18 September: Birmingham Hippodrome www.birminghamhippodrome.com
21 September – 2 October: Royal & Derngate, Northampton www.royalandderngate.co.uk
5 – 16 October: Festival Theatre, Edinburgh www.edtheatres.com
19 – 29 October: King’s Theatre, Glasgow www.atgtickets.com/venues/kings-theatre/
9 – 19 November: New Victoria Theatre, Woking www.atgtickets.com/venues/new-victoria-theatre/
Further tour dates to be announced

Edinburgh Fringe

[EdinburghFringe][bleft]

Reviews

[Reviews][bleft]

Comedy

[Comedy][bleft]

Events

[Events][bleft]