JULIAN OVENDEN to release debut album 'If You Stay' on 23rd April

The debut album released on 23rd April on Decca Records
“Beyond praise…Cary Grant with high notes…a matinee idol throwback” New York Times

Julian Ovenden, the established charismatic star of stage and screen is already well known from playing many leading roles in high profile television shows. Julian is most familiarly known for his role as the Spitfire pilot Andrew Foyle in the critically acclaimed drama-series, Foyle’s War and he has conquered both the West End and Broadway stages.

But now, Julian Ovenden is set to release his debut album entitled: ‘If You Stay’ – a collection of songs that take the listener back to the golden era of 1960s London. Julian says he wants it to be “A CD that one might put into a Ford Focus, and suddenly the car is transformed into an Aston Martin.”

The album ‘If You Stay’ comprises of a mixture of original songs and heart-warming renowned cover tracks including: ‘The Last Waltz’, ‘You’ve Made Me So Very Happy’, along with his own presentation of track ‘If You Go Away’ - a take on the French classic: ‘Ne Me Quitte Pas’, and finally a beautiful and moving rendition of the track ‘When She Loved Me’ taken from his son’s favourite film, Toy Story.
Mark Wilkinson, Managing Director of Decca Records, says: “Julian’s timeless, velvety voice, effortless presentation and great British music pedigree place him at the forefront of a new generation of classic British male singing stars.”

‘If You Stay’

1. It Hurts To Say Goodbye
2. The Last Waltz
3. Woman To Man
4. If You Go Away
5. Stay
6. I’m Not Coming Home
7. Up, Up and Away
8. When She Loved Me
9. In A Broken Dream
10. Ten Thousand Miles
11. Just To See Each Other Again
12. Something Better
13. You’ve Made Me So Very Happy

Produced by Simon Franglen