Album Review: The Overtones - Sweet Soul Music ✭✭✭✭✭

The Overtones 

Sweet Soul Music 

Release Date: Monday 2 March 2015

With the release of their new album only days away we get transported to the sound of the 1960s with ‘Sweet Soul Music’ and oh isn’t it just so sweet.
The five piece vocal harmony (Timmy Mately, Lachie Chapman, Mike Crawshaw, Mark Franks and Dareen Everest), join forces once again to bring a their fourth collection of soul classics and three brand new originals.

With classics from The Drifters, Al Green, Marvin Gaye and The Temptations, this album will have you moving from the first song. The Overtones bring their harmonies, their vocal abilities and a fresh approach to these classics.

Opening with the swinging title track ‘Sweet Soul Music’ originally recorded by Arthur Conley, gets you ready to start dancing. Other classics on the album include ‘Get Ready’ (Martha & The Vandellas’), ‘How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You’ (Marvin Gaye) and ‘Let’s Stay Together’ (Al Green).

What’s nice about this album is even though the majority of the album is classics, their originals manage to fit so well in to the album, they don’t seem out of place and that’s a great accomplishment – ‘Something Good’, ‘Moving On’, ‘Giving Me Soul’. The beautiful ‘Giving Me Soul’ is a great addition to the album and Lachie Chapman does such a beautiful job. ‘Something Good’ could possibly be one of their biggest hits on the album, with a catchy beat, great lyrics and even better vocals, this could be a massive hit for The Overtones. And another hit ‘Moving On’ (personal favourite), is one of those great songs that you play when you want to feel better after breaking up with someone.

‘River Deep, Mountain High’ features X Factor winner Sam Bailey, who fits to the song really well and blends in really well with the harmonies of The Overtones. Great addition to the album, would be a great live performance to see.

Lachie Chapman recently said “Apart from making you dance, soul music really does hit you in the heart,” and he couldn’t be more right, this album makes you dance and warms your heart.
The Overtones will head out on tour in June 2015 and from the sound of this album, it’s going to be a party full of soul.

The ‘Sweet Soul Music’ tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Sweet Soul Music
  2. Get Ready 
  3. Give Me Just a Little More Time 
  4. Something Good 
  5. Heatwave 
  6. Let’s Stay Together 
  7. Moving On
  8. How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You
  9. River Deep, Mountain High (featuring Sam Bailey) 
  10. Under The Boardwalk
  11. Giving Me Soul 
  12. Heart It Through The Grapevine 
  13. Rainy Night in Georgia

For information about the album and their upcoming tour please visit

We have 3 signed copies of the new album to give away.
Watch out on our Twitter and Facebook pages for details of how to win.
UK Entrants only - closing date 6 March