BBC Live Lounge 2016 out this November

On 11 November 2016, the hotly anticipated annual compilation ‘BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge 2016’ will be released, celebrating the finest of the past year’s Radio 1 Live Lounge sessions. This is the 11th collection in the incredibly popular compilation series that has already sold 4.4 million units to date.

Radio 1’s Live Lounge is known for attracting some of the biggest and best new artists in the world, with this album showcasingthe biggest hits of the past year through brilliantly unique cover versions or creative reworking’s of artists’ own tracks. Radio 1’s Live Lounge delivers a plethora of incredible performances throughout the year and the tradition of quality continues with ‘BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge 2016’, featuring tracks from Biffy Clyro, Jack Garratt, Fifth Harmony, Bastille, One Direction and more.

Live Lounge 2016 includes first appearances from this year’s breakthrough artists Lukas Graham, Blossoms and Shawn Mendes, alongside Live Lounge returning artists Coldplay, James BayUsher and Olly Murs. Many of the year’s smash hits are given a new slant, The 1975 taking on Justin Bieber’s ‘Sorry’Gorgon City taking on the track of the year, Drake’s ‘One Dance’, Nick Jonas making ‘Lush Life’ his own and of course Craig David’s amazing interpretation of Justin Bieber’s ‘Love Yourself’.

Clara Amfo says: “We’ve had so many great artists in the Live Lounge over the last year. It remains genuinely exciting to see what tracks they're going to take on and the results are always truly memorable.”

Radio 1’s Live Lounge attracts the best acts in the world and is hosted by Clara Amfo.   The bands and artists perform their own track, and a cover version. The tracks are live, showing the true quality of the musicianship and craft of the song. September saw the return of the hugely successful ‘Live Lounge Month’ – when 25 of the biggest and newest acts from the UK and beyond performed in Radio 1’s Live. This is the ONLY place to get all these unique tracks on one album.